Worlds are Colliding

Higher education does seem to have a pretty well-defined caste system.

Wayne Scheiss, director of the legal-writing program at UT explores the two worlds he belongs to.

In my first world, I am the Director of Legal Writing at a top-20 law school. My job carries with it prestige. I get respect. In my first world, I have written and published two books. The few people who have read them, liked them. In my first world, I get unsolicited invitations to write books and articles. In my first world, I am almost considered prolific because I maintain a blog, write and publish articles, and write and publish books.

In my second world, I am a senior lecturer. I have a three-year contract for my job, with no possibility of tenure. I do not have the title “Professor.” When someone calls me “Professor Schiess,” I wonder if I should correct it. In my second world, I teach law students how to do legal citation, how to format a legal memo, and how to find legal authorities. I do not teach substance or doctrine; I am a skills trainer. My salary, after 15 years, is 80% of the salary a first-year law professor makes at my law school.

Leave a Reply

