Your Luggage Checks Out, But It Can Never Leave

Reading up on travel this summer in preparation for my trip, I’ve seen quite a few London Heathrow horror stories. Apparently the airport is severely overcrowded and in dire need of a new terminal, which is under construction. One story claimed that last year, at the end of summer British Airways shipped 15,000 pieces of lost luggage to the U.S. for passengers who had connected through Heathrow in the preceding months. Since Heathrow is my endpoint, rather than making a connection there I thought I was OK. I may still be and since I know to plan ahead I’m not really worried, but this article makes it sound really bad. Should be fun.

“When we got into the facts, we found it to be pretty shocking,” said Steve Berman, one of the lawyers handling the case. “There’s a pretty substantial likelihood that if you fly on BA to Heathrow, you are going to have your bags lost.”

2 Responses

  1. Wow! That’s not just bad, that’s amazingly bad! They should fire every person who handles luggage from there and hire people who actually do their job! On the other hand, maybe everyone should start using some of those tracking bags like Global Bag Tag, I’ve heard good things about them πŸ™‚

  2. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. πŸ™‚ Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

