Yahoo Supporting OpenID

I just heard this on a TWiT podcast from a couple of weeks ago.

Here’s a report from TechCrunch. I hope this is a step towards resolving the plethora of online usernames and passwords that are currently required to navigate the web. I’ve had an OpenID for a while from MyOpenID.com, and there are a couple of sites that use it for authorization (Plaxo and I think LinkedIn plans to enable it soon), but having the weight of Yahoo behind it will hopefully drive adoption and smooth out the bugs in implementation (The Plaxo implementation allows me to login, but never remembers by OpenID login and I have to reauthorize it each time). Supposedly, by being an open standard OpenID will have more adoption and autonomy than Microsoft’s previous attempt at a universal signon, Passport.

The beta site for Yahoo’s OpenID is supposed to go live today: http://openid.yahoo.com/ I was able to create my Yahoo OpenID just now. A Yahoo account is required, but I’m sure you create one for free.

Wonder if Google will ever jump on this bandwagon?

Here’s an interesting writeup with a brief examination of OpenID and some pros and cons:

OpenID and the Identity Systems of Yahoo, Google & MSN

Leave a Reply

